Forest Park Herb Walks

Get your Vitamin N (for nature) and meet your plant neighbors!

Break out your boots, dust off your pack and join the Forest Park Conservancy for a series of one-hour guided hikes. Led by local naturopathic physicians and NUNM students, these one-hour walks will introduce you to the medicinal uses of plants found in your own back yard.

Hike space is limited and will be filled on a first-come, first-served basis. Unless otherwise indicated, these hikes are suitable for ages 10 & up. Pre-register through the Forest Park Conservancy.

Cost: Free

Upcoming Dates

Click the links to view map to walk site. Carpooling is encouraged.

Saturday, Feb. 8 | 11 a.m. – noon Lower Macleay Park, 2960 NW Upshur Street

Saturday, March 14 | 11 a.m. – noon Leif Erikson Trailhead at NW Thurman Street

Saturday, April 11 | 11 a.m. – noon Birch Trailhead on NW 53rd Drive

Saturday, May 9 | 11 a.m. – noon Springville Trailhead on NW Skyline Boulevard

Saturday, June 13 | 11 a.m. – noon Aspen Trailhead on NW Aspen Avenue

Saturday, July 11 | 11 a.m. – noon Dogwood and Wildcherry Trailhead on NW 53rd Drive

Saturday, Aug. 8 | 11 a.m. – noon Linnton Trailhead on NW St. Helens Road

Saturday, Sept. 12 | 11 a.m. – noon Fire Lane 15 on NW Skyline Boulevard

Saturday, Oct. 10 | 11 a.m. – noon Wildwood Trailhead at Pittock Mansion

Saturday, Nov. 14 | 11 a.m. – noon Wildwood Trailhead at Germantown Road


The collaboration between Traditional Roots Institute and the Forest Park Conservancy was originally established through the work of The American Clothing Experiment.